City Tax Accounting Categories: What is the best practice for rebates and cancellations?

• 16 April 2024
  • 8 replies

Userlevel 1

Hi Community!

I am a Product Manager in the Finance team and I am looking for some feedback on how you use, or would like to use accounting categories for city tax rebates and cancellations.

When rebating or cancelling a city tax would you want this to be posted to the same accounting category that the city tax was originally posted to? Or is there a reason why you might want this to be posted to a different accounting category? If so, why?

Looking forward to your feedback and thanks in advance!

8 replies

Userlevel 3
Badge +1

Hello! @laura.asplin 

Slightly off-topic, but you triggered me 😉

When we started using MEWS in January this year, the hard coded Vienna City Tax was broken, or at least not working correctly (it didn’t subtract breakfast elements from the gross rate, thus calculating the city tax also based on breakfast, instead of internally splitting included breakfast from the gross rate to calculate city tax only based on net rate without breakfast). Thus we had to make manual stay products and posting rules to correctly account for that, adjust rate for breakfast, calculate city tax and add breakfast back to the bill… However, when splitting the invoice or moving stay items partially to company bills and so on, city tax get’s mixed up a little bit.

For you question: we wouldn’t mind having city tax cancellations or rebates  posted to the same accounting category, as long as we get the correct value at the end of each month to know what we have to pay to the city. For tax audits by authorities it would be very usefull to get a report of city tax base amount, like “what was the net revenue, with breakfast internally splitted, for a certain period?”